Whispering Pines Bed & Breakfast: The Oasis of Nebraska City

Image

After a long week, I was ready for a little escape.  Fortunately, my researches showed that there was a bed and breakfast just an hour away from Omaha in the town of Nebraska City called the Whispering Pines.  Perfect!!  It sounded like just the place for an overnight getaway.

Let me assure you that I would stay here again in a heartbeat.  The Whispering Pines is located on a six acre piece of land in Nebraska City, making it the most spacious property I have stayed in to date.

Upon my arrival, I was warmly greeted by its proprietor, Jeanna Stavas, who promptly offered me homemade chocolate chip cookies and tea, coffee, or cocoa.  I declined the drink, but helped myself to a couple of cookies which were the pinnacle of cookiedom.  Nestle Tollhouse, eat your heart out because you’ve got nothing on these cookies.

For the second time in a row, I was the sole guest of the night at a bed and breakfast, but that was okay because Jeanna was quite friendly, an excellent hostess, and a great conversationalist.  She led me to my room, Victoria’s Suite, which is the smallest room of the inn, but, in my estimation, the neatest.

009010

 

That fireplace sure felt good.

That fireplace sure felt good.

 

These tiles were heated.

These tiles were heated.

 

 

As you can see from the photos, this room actually felt more like a little house than it did a room.  I relaxed for nearly an hour and then went up to the dining room for my supper.

Unlike many bed and breakfasts, the Whispering Pines also operates as a restaurant.  All I can say is if you have a chance to eat lunch or supper here, do so.  I had Beef Wellington with a side of toasted potatoes and roasted carrots with lemonade to drink.  The presentation was magnificent.  And the taste was even better.  I don’t get to use the word, savor, very often, but I spent 45 minutes savoring every exquisite mouthful of this meal.

After supper, I wandered around the house and snapped a few photos and had a little conversation with Jeanna and her friend.  Afterwards, I retired to my room, where I enjoyed a hot bath, did a little work on my laptop, and ended the evening by watching the classic film, Stalag 17, and then falling into Dreamland as I watched the soft glow of my electric fireplace.

The next morning, I actually allowed myself to sleep in a little before I headed upstairs for some breakfast.  This meal now ranks as one of my two favorite breakfasts that I’ve ever had at a B & B.  Jeanna started the meal with a few slices of banana nut bread, a small dish of fruit with homemade yogurt with agave nectar and homemade granola, and a wine glass of orange juice.

Then came the main entrée of eggs benedict with the eggs done over medium, mixed with cheddar cheese and ham and served on a bed of cinnamon raisin toast.  Just like the previous night, I lingered over my meal for about 40 minutes as I enjoyed each and every delightful bite.

The only disappointment about my stay is that I found out they’re holding a murder mystery dinner tonight which I would have loved to be a part.  One day, I hope to get back and attend one of their mystery events.

If you live close to Nebraska City or find yourself passing through, spend a night at the Whispering Pines.  I guarantee it will be a night to remember.

022021015014

