2015 Theatre Arts Guild Awards

Last night, the Omaha Theatre Arts Guild held its annual awards show to celebrate the best and brightest of the Omaha theatre season at the Scott Conference Center.

And the winners are:

Outstanding drama

“Our Town,” Blue Barn Theatre

Outstanding comedy

“Calendar Girls,” SNAP Productions

Outstanding musical

“Cabaret,” Creighton University Theatre

Outstanding director, comedy or drama

Susan Clement-Toberer, “Our Town.” Blue Barn

Outstanding director, musical

Amy Lane, “Cabaret”, Creighton University Theatre

Outstanding lead actress, comedy or drama

Moira Mangiameli, “Vanya & Sonia & Masha & Spike,” SNAP

Outstanding lead actor, comedy or drama

Daniel Dorner, “An Iliad,” Brigit St. Brigit

Outstanding lead actress, musical

Melanie Walters, “Spamalot,” Omaha Community Playhouse

Outstanding lead actor, musical

Dave Wingert, “The Drowsy Chaperone,” Playhouse

Outstanding supporting actress, comedy or drama

Julie Huff, “Our Town.” Blue Barn

Outstanding supporting actor, comedy or drama

Kevin Barratt, “I Hate Hamlet,” Playhouse

Outstanding supporting actress, musical

Judy Radcliff, “Cabaret”, Creighton University Theatre

Outstanding supporting actor, musical

Mathias Jeske, “Spamalot”, Omaha Playhouse

Outstanding featured actress, comedy or drama

Stephanie Anderson, “Calendar Girls”, SNAP Productions

Outstanding featured actor, comedy or drama

Dennis Collins, “Our Town”, Blue Barn

Outstanding featured actress, musical

Jodi Vaccaro, “Mary Poppins,” The Rose Theater

Outstanding featured actor, musical

Chris Ebke, “Hands on a Hardbody,” Playhouse

Outstanding youth actress

Emma Johnson, “The Secret Garden,” The Rose

Outstanding youth actor

Danny Denenberg, “A Christmas Story,” The Rose

Outstanding music director

Stephen Sheftz, “Cabaret”, Creighton University Theatre

Outstanding choreographer

Melanie Walters, “Spamalot”, Omaha Playhouse

Outstanding sound design

Tim Burkhart & John Gibilisco, “Spamalot”, Omaha Playhouse

Outstanding props design

Amy Reiner, “American Buffalo,” Blue Barn

Outstanding set design

Matthew D. Hamel, “Cabaret”, Creighton University Theatre

Outstanding costume design

Lydia Dawson, “Spamalot”, Omaha Playhouse

Outstanding lighting design

Carol Wiser, “Our Town”, Blue Barn

Backstage achievement awards

Tim Sorenson and Denise Putnam

Bob Roberts board recognition awards

Joe Basque and CU@theART

Honorary TAG award

Bob Fischbach

Outstanding ensemble

Photo shoot, “Calendar Girls”, SNAP Productions

Outstanding special event

“Prince Max’s Trewly Awful Trip to the Desolat Interior,” Great Plains Theatre Conference


Max Hauze

Katie Pohlman

Theatre educator award

Jerry Gray

Outstanding new script

“The Other Sewing Circle” by Marie Amthor Schuett, Shelterbelt Theatre

Norman & Louise Filbert lifetime achievement award

Kevin Lawler

2015 Playhouse Awards Night

Last night the Omaha Playhouse held its annual Awards Night to honor the contributions of its numerous volunteers on all sides of the stage.

Volunteer Awards

PRESIDENT’S AWARD:  Trish Liakos and Steph Gould, Act II

EDWARD F. OWEN AWARD:  Carter and Vernie Jones

TRUSTEES’ AWARD:  Mary Dew and Bob Fischbach

Acting Awards


Brennan Thomas for his performance as George in Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf?

Melanie Walters for her performance as The Lady of the Lake in Spamalot

MARY PECKHAM AWARD (Best Featured Actor)


Dave Wingert for his performance as Man in Chair in The Drowsy Chaperone

(Tie)  Megan McGuire for her performance as the Drowsy Chaperone in The Drowsy Chaperone and Molly McGuire as Janet Van De Graaf in The Drowsy Chaperone


Matthew Pyle for his performance as Jeffrey Skilling in Enron

Charleen Willoughby for her performance as Martha in Who’s Afraid of Viriginia Woolf?

BARBARA FORD AWARD (Best Supporting Actor)


Brian Priesman for his performance as Patsy in Spamalot

Rebecca Noble for her performance as Norma Valverde in Hands On a Hardbody


Andrew Prescott for his performance as Caleb DeLeon in The Whipping Man

Megan Friend for her performance as Honey in Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf?



Matthias Jeske for multiple roles in Spamalot

Roni Shelley Perez for her performance as Mary Magdalene in Jesus Christ Superstar


Paul Schnieder for his performance as Kenneth Lay in Enron

Julie Fitzgerald Ryan for her performance as Felicia Dantine in I Hate Hamlet

BILL BAILEY DEBUT AWARD (Best Debut Performance

Nick Albrecht for his performance as King Arthur in Spamalot

Sarah Query for her performance as Cindy Barnes in Hands On a Hardbody